Paradise and other Dudley Streets

Moderators: admin, Northern Lass

Paradise and other Dudley Streets

Postby GarethGrainger » Mon Nov 30, 2009 11:22 am

Hello all.
I am interested to learn more about Paradise an area in Dudley.
Many of my Grainger ancesters lived there in the early 1800's,
most, especially the males were coal miners.
I find it quite unusual, that given the living conditions at that
time,the name Paradise hardly seems fitting for an area in the
centre of the coal and iron industry.
My feeling is that most of inhabitants of Dudley lived in utter
squaller, bearing in mind that there was no sanitation at that
time.
I would be very greatful if anyone could help me discover a little
more about the living conditions at that time in our history.
Any old photo's or prints would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you
ps. excuse my ignorance as I'm new to this, but I'm not sure what a pm is
GarethGrainger

Re: Paradise Dudley

Postby linell » Mon Nov 30, 2009 11:44 am

Hi Gareth, as far as I am aware Paradise is just the name of the Street, yes we really should find out why it was called Paradise? It does back onto Buffery Park. PM is a Private Message, on the right side of your postings you should see PM, you can PM another Member of the Forum for anything you want to keep out of the public domain.

HTH from Linell.
linell

Postby linell » Mon Nov 30, 2009 11:49 am

Don't forget that the BC folk had a real dour sense of humour, that could be where the 'Paradise' name came from.

Linell.
linell

Postby Northern Lass » Wed Dec 02, 2009 9:17 am

There are lots of books on Dudley
not sure if any of those would have something in about Paradise ...is it Street?

The archives might have something too.
:?
Northern Lass

Postby MarkCDodd » Wed Dec 02, 2009 9:41 am

Sanitation problems are why I am rather proud to have quite a few "Night Soil Labourers" in my tree :)
Black Holes happen when God divides by zero.
MarkCDodd

Postby mallosa » Wed Dec 02, 2009 8:37 pm