How to keep search costs down?

This section is for those who are completely new to genealogy and would like to dip their toe in the gene pool!

Moderators: admin, Northern Lass, peterd

How to keep search costs down?

Postby mrsmoo » Tue Jan 07, 2014 3:37 pm

Hi Genealogy friends, I am a novice but I'm learning fast. I have started researching my mother's family tree with very little information (my cousins know as much as I do, which is virtually nothing). The thing that I am finding most frustrating is that I am being asked to pay for things at almost every corner I turn. The worst of these experiences so far is where I have found a newspaper article (which I think relates to an accident my grandmother had resulting in my mother and all her siblings being taken into care and separated) and I am only slightly certain that the story is right but I have to pay for it to see it. I am loathe to pay for something that might be incorrect. I think I am right in that I can go into a library to access the article for free but I live in remote rural Scotland and this is not easy for me to do. Are there any good websites that are completely free of charges? I am particularly interested in searching newspapers, care homes, children's homes and nursing records at this stage. My initial area of search is Maidstone, Kent. Your help and advice will be greatly appreciated.
mrsmoo

Re: How to keep search costs down?

Postby snoopysue » Tue Jan 07, 2014 4:03 pm

You can ask to see if someone could look it up for you - someone with the correct membership may be willing to have a look for you - they will of course need some details.
Snoopysue

Logic merely enables one to be wrong with authority.
snoopysue

Postby mrsmoo » Tue Jan 07, 2014 4:27 pm