Brick-Wall hiding Thomas family in Oldbury

Archived content from closed or older discussion threads.

Moderators: admin, Northern Lass

Brick-Wall hiding Thomas family in Oldbury

Postby Delapre-Ron » Wed Aug 14, 2019 9:16 pm

Hi, I have been researching my family tree since about 2005. So far, I have run what I would consider a successful project tracing much of my paternal and some of my maternal ancestry. The problem I have battled with from the start is my maternal grandmother’s family. My mother passed away when I was very young, and we lost contact with her parents in the 1950’s. I have now got to the point where I feel that I require help to try to break down the brick wall that prevents me progressing. Any information on the birth/marriage of Joseph Thomas born 1850 and his wife Elizabeth (not Tinsley) born 1850, both recorded as born in Oldbury would be very welcome.
My grandmother was Mary Thomas born 6th March 1886 (from the 1939 register). The 1911 census does include Mary's mother Elizabeth Thomas living at 39 Orchard Street, Oldbury. Please note that this census also includes Mary’s sister Hannah Knight who was a witness at my grandparent's wedding, tying the records and families together. Also, interesting to note from this record is that another one of Elizabeth Thomas’s daughters - Elizabeth Cronshaw marries the person that completed the form following the death of her husband James Cronshaw in WW1 Flanders 1915. This census contains more clues, it states that Elizabeth Thomas had been married for 40 years, unfortunately I do not know if that was up until her husband’s death or to 1911. Joseph died on the 20 July 1909.