Can’t find a marriage, birth or death certificate

Requests for assistance with seemingly insurmountable problems!

Moderators: grangers14, admin, Northern Lass, BC Wench

Can’t find a marriage, birth or death certificate

Postby Seoras » Sat Jan 22, 2022 11:48 am

Hello, I’m new to both the forum and family research so please bear with me! I’ve successfully traced the male line in my family back to 1862 but now I’m stuck. On my great, great grandfather’s marriage certificate it lists both of his parents, his mother is also mentioned in his death certificate so that’s definite. Problem is, I can’t find any information on either his mother or father. I’ve looked at births, marriages, death and census records but nope, nada. I wondered if anyone can offer me some advice on how to get past this blockage? The female line is proving much easier because some other family members have already done the heavy lifting. BTW, the family lived in North East Fife for many generations which has made it both more difficult and easier depending on the individual being researched,

Thanks in advance, Seoras
Seoras

Re: Can’t find a marriage, birth or death certificate

Postby BC Wench » Sat Jan 22, 2022 6:27 pm

Welcome to the forum Seoras.

If you could give us the names of the people and any info you have we will try and help.
Researching: PARGETER, BELCHER, BRADLEY, DANDO, ROWLEY, ROWSELL
BC Wench

Postby Seoras » Sat Jan 22, 2022 9:51 pm

Hi, BC Wench, thanks very much for your reply. I’m researching the male line of the Low family, I didn’t realise it was such a common name in the East of Scotland. I’ve managed to confirm the line as follows:
Father- Frederick Low, 1935 - 1991
Grandfather- Alexander Low, 1895 - 1959 married Janet Ritchie in 1914 then my gran Elizabeth Scott Ingram in 1918
G Grandfather- James Low, 1862 - 1921 married Mary Gough in 1888
G G Grandfather- James Low, about 1810 (can’t find birth info) - 1909 married Margaret Redpath in 1862