My DNA Journey as a Newbie

Discussion of DNA research techniques and web sites. Please do not post DNA data relating to individuals.

Moderators: grangers14, admin

My DNA Journey as a Newbie

Postby chiddicks » Sat Jan 20, 2018 5:04 pm

Over the next few weeks I hope to post a regular blog on my personal DNA experience from a complete novice perspective. From choosing the test, the test itself, the results and what to do next.

Hopefully if you new like me this might help you with choices, interpreting your results and ultimately what to do with them
chiddicks

Re: My DNA Journey as a Newbie

Postby chiddicks » Sat Jan 20, 2018 5:05 pm

DNA Testing - The Revolution (1) https://chiddicksfamilytree.wordpress.c ... evolution/ via @chiddickstree
chiddicks

Postby chiddicks » Sat Jan 20, 2018 5:05 pm

Choosing a DNA test (2) https://chiddicksfamilytree.wordpress.c ... na-test-2/ via @chiddickstree
chiddicks

Postby grangers14 » Sat Jan 27, 2018 4:12 pm

I did mine many years ago, I forget the company now? Ancestry bought? the results. I can longer see them! :o It has put me off doing it now.
grangers14

Postby chiddicks » Sun Apr 29, 2018 1:05 am

chiddicks

Postby chiddicks » Sun Apr 29, 2018 7:39 pm

My DNA results are in!!

Could I be anymore British!!

https://chiddicksfamilytree.wordpress.c ... ts-are-in/
chiddicks

Postby ELF1989 » Mon Apr 30, 2018 10:16 pm

Resolving my DNA matches is my current obsession LOL

Welcome to a whole new world of genealogy!
ELF1989

Postby ELF1989 » Mon Apr 30, 2018 10:18 pm

Re your ethnicity on your blog, they're really not that useful for the ethnicity side of things.

When you upload your DNA to other sites (which you will as you will become addicted lol) you'll see that the ethnicity changes greatly. That's because it's based partly on where your matches live vs where your ancestors were born.

Shout if you need a helping hand getting started :)
ELF1989

Postby chiddicks » Wed May 02, 2018 3:10 pm